Time to Think

Well, I just started my second week of nannying. The first week went pretty well with the exception of the first day. The first day was honestly a little scary and overwhelming. The one year old I am watching was getting used to the idea of me being there with him and it was really hard on both of us. He cried for what felt like the entire day and once I had fed him, changed his diaper, and gotten him up from a nap, I didn’t know what else he could be crying about! I felt so incredibly helpless that I couldn’t help this little human and make him feel better. Looking back, I’m pretty sure he was just missing his mommy and still a little apprehensive about me being there. The next couple days improved with him crying less, and me crying less, too.

I really like the family I’m working with and the child is definitely growing on me. However, the arrangement will not be long term. It would be nice if I could continue until May, but I’m sure they’ll appreciate having their regular nanny back. This job has given me a lot more time to think about life and what exactly I want to be doing with mine. There is a common trend of advice that has been given to me many times recently and that is how I am in this stage of life where I can do just about anything. I should go try new things and get into areas of study that I won’t be able to experience 5 or 10 years from now. Sounds pretty reasonable, right? Sure, but I am also a future thinker and I want to make sure that the career or job field I get into will be a good fit for a newly married couple, but also a family.

I have many mixed feelings about jobs for the time being. I know I won’t be able to find the perfect job, but at least could it be something that I look forward to each day? A job where I don’t mind getting up early as much because I love what I do? I’m positive that something like that exists for me. Lifeguarding was like that. Unfortunately, even in sunny Florida the pools are closed from November-March so that’s not exactly ideal. Some of the characteristics I’m looking for in a job are flexibility, enjoyment, spiritual environment, and an element of variety. With lifeguarding, the element of variety would be the weather and people. Sometimes I would get off work early due to weather and there were always different people coming to the pool. With teaching, there’s always an element of variety. There are occasional snow days or assemblies, fun events such as the 100th day of school or reward parties, and plenty of other variety in a classroom setting.

I’ve contemplated finding a job where I can work from home because that would give me a good bit of flexibility. I haven’t totally given up on teaching, but there just isn’t anything available at the moment. My tentative plan is to get a teaching job next year and see how it goes. Other jobs I’ve thought about include a receptionist (preferably at a spa, but I would also be willing to try a doctors office, clinic, or a church office, etc.), Zumba instructor, background singer, songwriter, event coordinator, proofreader, and probably a few others that I’m even less likely to become.

Robert has pointed out to me that the reasons I give for not wanting to work a certain job are generally because the jobs are unfamiliar and that scares me. I don’t know exactly what to expect and what my day will look like. Since I’ve had a few “first day” experiences lately, I dread first days because they are unknown, for the most part, and I really don’t like not knowing. I almost wanna go back to the drawing board and start job shadowing people who have careers that interest me. Everything looks easier on the outside looking in than when you’re actually performing the job yourself. I’m also considering working part-time, if our budget can handle it, of course. I’m just throwing out all my thoughts and ideas that have been rolling around in my mind lately. Please leave me some feedback! Tell me what you think or if you have any suggestions for me. Thanks!

Blog#4

One thought on “Time to Think

  1. Wow… You are wise beyond your years. Personally, when I was your age I always went where I could make the most money. I never thought about my happiness, just provide provide provide, the best I could. Looking back everything worked out well. Life is what you make it, no matter where you end up. Happiness is much more important then monetary value.

    Like

Leave a Reply

