Consistency ‘Til Summer

Robert and I recently returned from our all too short trip to Charlotte, North Carolina. It was a great break from typical every day life (or least the way every day life has been going for the last month). We both had an exciting time! Robert and his buddies went to…five disc golf courses I believe over the span of two days. We drove down Thursday afternoon/evening and came back Saturday evening. It was great getting to spend time with my friend, Joy. We visited some coffee shops and definitely spent some time at the Charlotte Premium Outlets.

It was awesome to still be able to see some snow this winter! It snowed for about 23 minutes and 42 seconds around lunchtime on Friday. It was enough to make my car look like it had gone through a snowstorm, but nothing substantial enough to stick to the ground or cause any traffic delays. On Saturday, Joy and I decided to experience The Fairy Houses Festival that was going on in Huntersville, NC at the Latta Plantation. All I can say is, wow! It was quite the experience! It sounds a little cheesy, and of course we got a few comments from the guys, but there was so much to do! If you have a child (boy or girl) I would definitely recommend going! They have it every year on a Saturday in February.

Everything at the festival was free except for the food venders and fairy wing retailers. However, they were handing out free bags of popcorn! They had little white tents set up all over the plantation and signs labeling the activities. Down by the lake, they had a Fairy Boat Craft Area where you could create your own boat using sticks and twigs. They provided branch cutters and twine to make the experience a little easier. They also had an area where kids could build their own fairy house! This was probably the coolest part. It was really something to see so many dads out there helping their kids build these little houses out of anything they could find in the woods. Some other things to do included face painting, roasting Smore’s by the fire pit (or just warming up!), storytelling, gnome geocaching, pony rides, crafts, and not to mention a surprise appearance from the one and only Tinker Bell!

While we were away, I got an email from the owner of Twinkle Toes Nanny Agency (Kristy) letting me know that the regular nanny I had been subbing for had returned and planned to start back on Monday. I was a little sad since I didn’t really get to say goodbye, but excited to have some time off this week. (Maybe I’ll get to work on my DIY wreath!) I’ll be covering for another nanny just for a few days this week. Kristy also mentioned that she had a family who needed a nanny starting February 22 and running through June 1. After discussing it with Robert, we decided it would be a wise choice for me to take it. I will be taking care of a three month old boy and occasionally his four year old brother. This will give me a consistent job until we return to WV for the summer.

Blog#5

 

2 thoughts on “Consistency ‘Til Summer

  1. Awwww! The fairy stuff looks so cool! I’ve always wanted to make a fairy garden. I’m glad for consistency but sad you’re staying down there till June 1st : (

    Like

  2. I am glad that you are taking advantage of the opportunity to travel. Hang in there with the jobs! I know when Brent got his position at Widener outside of Philly, I thought it would be easy for me to get a research job with all of the pharmaceutical companies nearby. But that wasn’t God’s plan. Instead he had me try adjunct teaching at 3 different colleges and writing with a medical marketing group and a temp agency. All of these experiences showed me skills that I had and areas that I did or did not want to pursue. At the time, it felt like I was spinning my wheels with a PhD but ultimately it has led me into a position where now I can work remotely from home. I think you are keeping an open mind about various possibilities. It doesn’t hurt to try something and then decide that you can rule out that area. And I completely agree with your comment about first days – regardless of whether it is a first day at a job, in a class, or in a bible study – they are all very uncomfortable. Hugs to you and Robert!

    Like

Leave a Reply

