Teaching at Last!

I started my new job last week at The Academy. Don’t ask me if I like it yet, because I haven’t decided. During the day, I basically fill in for absent teachers with kids aging from infants up through second grade. If all the teachers are at school, I do miscellaneous jobs like folding laundry and distributing it to classrooms or helping out in the infant room. In the afternoon from 3-6, I am the lead teacher for the kids who stay after school since their parents are still at work. It has been pretty chaotic since there is a wide range of ages (3 years old to seven years old) and they all come to the back room at different times. Fortunately, I have two teachers helping me because we have up to 30 kids in the room at any given moment.

Over the weekend I worked on setting up a schedule of activities for the afternoon. There are a few things I can’t change like snack time and outside time, but the kids definitely need more structure rather than tons of free play. I’m planning on adding a song time and a game time. Possibly a craft time, but that will be more demanding since I will have to plan a craft for every day, gather all the materials, AND modify it depending on the age. Songs and games are a little easier to incorporate for several age groups. I am excited to see how the kids respond to the activities I have planned.

The Academy currently has a Kindergarten class and a combined 1st/2nd grade class. I was informed upon hire that both teachers will not be returning next Fall, which is good news for me! Since the students will be moving up next year, there will be a need for a third grade class, which is my preferred grade. I’m hoping to step into that role when we return to Florida in the Fall. One thing I am excited about experiencing is the class sizes. The elementary school isn’t advertised much, so the Kindergarten class this year has a total of 7 students, 3 1st grade students, and four second grade students. Hence why they combined 1st and 2nd grade for this year. I’m really looking forward to actually being able to connect and have a relationship with each of my students.

Robert and I have been spending more time outside our apartment with some of our new friends. Last week, Robert participated in a basketball tournament that was hosted by our apartment complex, Cabana Beach. Click here and here to see pictures from the event! Our new friend Tyler (wearing blue in the pictures) called in some of his basketball buddies to be on the team for the 5 on 5 tournament. He played college basketball, so he had some pretty legit connections, included a guy who used to play professionally for the Spurs. Needless to say, their team won the tournament and walked away with $10 Chick-fil-a giftcards each!

We also attended a small cook-out/dinner and made some new friends through Tyler’s other connections. The hosting couple, Tyler’s best friend’s parents, has the most beautiful house in Haile Plantation (a wealthy community in Gainesville) on the edge of a golf course. Tyler had a few games planned for us including taste testing those nasty jelly beans you can buy at Cracker Barrel, as well as an intense game of charades. One team would come up with a person, action, and place for someone on the other team to act out for their team to guess. I’m not very good at guessing, but apparently I’m pretty good at acting. The other team won, but it was still great fun and great company.

Well, until next time leave your comments, suggestions, encouragements below! Thanks for subscribing to my blog!

Blog#7

Leave a Reply

