Happy Good Friday!

The Academy is closed on Good Friday and I am very thankful to have today off! I am spending my day cooking and cleaning the apartment in anticipation for my parents coming to visit! They will be staying with us for an entire week and I can’t wait to share with them the life that we have made here. Overall, I had a really great week. The Academy has what they call “No School-School” on the days that public schools are closed (such as Spring Break). They offer care for older siblings of kids who regularly come to the preschool. I was responsible for planning a daily schedule of activities for 4-6 first graders and two Kindergarteners while they were on “Spring Break” this week. I came up with the idea for the students to earn jellybeans for good choices throughout the week. They each started with three tally marks (or three jellybeans) each day and they could either make choices to earn more jellybeans or lose jellybeans. It worked so wonderfully! And the kids couldn’t have been more excited about taking home their reward at the end of the week! One parent even mentioned that her child had been more well behaved at home this week (bonus for me!).

The most students I had in a day was eight and the least I had was five, so I had a pretty good group with such low numbers. I planned a craft activity for each day along with other activities. The first day, the kids made these pretty cool Easter crosses. On Tuesday, I attempted trying a craft that my brother had made when he was in elementary school. It was an Easter egg made out of string, but unfortunately it was a teacher fail for two reasons. I used yarn instead of embroidery floss AND I only had the kids wrap in an up-and-down direction rather than across and all over. Sadly, when we popped the balloons the yarn imploded as well. This was the result:

20160323_083953.jpg

But no worries! The kids weren’t too upset. I made it into a teachable moment by pointing out that teachers don’t always get it right the first time either. Wednesday’s craft was a little easier with coloring, cutting, and gluing chicks in an Easter basket. The last day they made a bird’s nest with little chicks inside. They turned out quite cute!

I’m working on recovering my joy of teaching so that I can look forward to my job rather than dreading going to work. After reading this note from one of my students this week, I’m sure it won’t be long. He is in Kindergarten by the way and made only one spelling error! Pretty impressive:

wp-1458931143121.jpg

I hadn’t really thought about what Robert and I would do to celebrate Easter, but we were surprised when we had to choose from several invites of where to spend Easter lunch/dinner on Sunday. It’s been such a huge blessing to have people reaching out to us and inviting us to various events. I’m really looking forward to the worship service on Sunday morning! We actually have enough Praise Team members to form a small choir (about 10 people) and still have a few people on mics. Pastor Sean and Kaley will be opening with Don’t You Worry Child/Beautiful Day mash-up. Everyone else will be singing Alive, Because He Lives (Amen), and Anthem (I chose this link because we are only singing the chorus for the service , but this family did an AMAZING job, especially the key changes!) for our Easter celebration. When we practiced on Thursday night, it felt like an epic dance party/concert on stage celebrating Christ’s resurrection.

tfcCan’t wait to celebrate on Sunday! Hallelujah, Christ has risen! Happy Easter!

Blog#8

One thought on “Happy Good Friday!

  1. This post makes me so happy. because you sound happy. and not just because we are coming to visit. Haha. Loved your crafts…..even the imploded one : ( And that little boy’s note ❤ Can't wait to see you guys !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

