Here’s to the New Year: 2019

It has been a pretty incredible year of ups and downs, exciting experiences with new friends, and new adventures with seasoned friends. Believe it or not, I had actually planned out this post almost a year ago, and had hoped to publish it in February of 2018….You can see how that went. Needless to say, I had to update my original plan for the content. It’s crazy to think how much has happened in just one year, but I will try not to bore you as I recap (with minimal details…hopefully!) the happenings of this year.

When living in a city where you receive the ever-alarming text message string of students getting taken advantage of, or an armed robbery, or shootings going on a few blocks away, I decided to make it a priority to take a self-defense class this year in order to be less fearful and feel more prepared. After doing some research to see what was offered in my area, I came across a program call RAD (Rape Aggression Defense). I signed up for this free, all female class that met twice a week for 2 weeks and I was successful in learning basic self-defense techniques designed for women to protect themselves in case of an attack; plus I met some pretty amazing women who also had a similar need to empower themselves for their own safety. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who has never engaged in self-defense class!

tough

We had several visits from family including my parents and brother coming down to visit. After my brother and his girlfriend left, my parents drove us over to check out Destin, FL for a few days. We also got to visit with Robert’s cousin Kimmie while we were there! Then Robert’s dad and sister came to visit and we were able to paddle down the Itchetucknee River, which was quite an adventure! Then Robert’s mom flew down the same day his dad flew back and we were able to spend some more time with his mom and sister.

A few weeks later, my best friend flew down to visit me for my birthday and we had a fantastic time visiting Clearwater Beach, FL. She also went to all the places with me where I could get free stuff for my birthday! Chick-fil-a, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Lollicup, Hyppo Pops, Smoothie King, and Gigi’s Cupcakes. We finished off the day by getting a free pizookie from BJ’s with all the ladies in my family group. What a fabulous time!

Just before summer began, we spent some time with one of our favorite couple friends by going to Crescent Beach, FL and exposing them to the amazing food at Sushi Zento & Grill in St. Augustine. Love spending time with these awesome people!!

tab and ry

Over the summer, we ventured home to WV again and I was able to manage a gorgeous private community pool in St. James, MD for the season. I met some AWESOME lifeguards who were wonderful people to train and work with, sadly for such a short period of time.

We were also able to take a trip out to Salt Lake City, Utah and visit our friends there, as well as go on an amazing adventure with them to see the Grand Canyon and other magnificent mountainous experiences.

On top of everything else we participated in over the summer, we were divinely chosen to take care of a little foster kitten that randomly appeared in a basket outside our porch one morning. Peanut was quite a source of excitement for us since she was always hanging out, waiting for us to come home. Unfortunately, we were unable to take her back to Florida with us and managed to find her a home on a farm about 20 minutes from our house. She was primarily an outdoor cat to begin with, so once she got used to having other cats around and let her guard down a bit, she was able to adjust to farm life.

peanuthead

The Fall semester back in Florida seemed to fly by in a blur of busyness. Between going back to school for my master’s in Information Science (AKA Librarian School), and Robert getting back into the flow of his classes and teaching, to planning a bridal shower from a distance, and visiting my brother in GA, to starting my new job, it was a crazy semester! We wrapped up our year celebrating the birth of Jesus (oh yeah, and Christmas!) with my extended family in Myrtle Beach, SC. Overall, it’s been a full year of excitement, adventure, and trusting God every step of the way!

Although I am excited to start a new year, 2018 was a really great year with many bittersweet memories that Robert and I will cherish for years to come.

Please leave any comments, questions, or share exciting stories/adventures you had in 2018!

Published by ashleymonahan

Hello! I was born and raised in West Virginia and relocated to Florida 5 years ago. I am truly enjoying all the wonderful experiences of married life with my best friend and incredible husband! I love coffee, chocolate, baking, and singing, but most of all living every day serving our perfect Savior Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment