Aye Corona! Graduation!?

You are not working from home. You are at your home during a crisis, trying to work.

I really like this phrase going around: “You are not working from home. You are at your home during a crisis, trying to work.” I was one of those people who thought working from home would be awesome! I’m great at multi-tasking and I love getting stuff done! Why would I not love working from home? I could plan my whole day around all the things I needed to get done, instead of having to plan around the 8-5 work day. After this experience of working from home for the last 2 months, it has definitely been challenging. I realize this situation is different from a typical work from home experience in that we are strongly discouraged to leave our homes or visit friends and loved ones, but I’m hopeful that remote work would typically feel less isolating than it does right now.

GradI am proud to say I finished my Master’s in Information Science degree this semester and I’m excited to find a job that more closely aligns with my career goals! I’ve been browsing the job market for the last 2-3 months and still trying to narrow down exactly what it is that would be fulfilling and purposeful.I have really enjoyed working on the WordPress migration project for my department’s website. I have learned so much about web design and creating content that will meet user’s needs. Ideally, I would love to find a position in a library that would allow me to organize and create content for the organizations web presence. I am very thankful for the opportunities to gain experience with web design while still remaining in my current role.

Working from home during this time has made me very hesitant to apply for remote or teleworking jobs, but I’m starting to rethink that concern. After a typical day of working from home (not during a pandemic), I would be able to go out to dinner with my husband or meet up with friends to watch a movie. For Heaven’s sake, I could even go to a coffee shop to work remotely! But not right now. Certainly not right now. I love the idea of having flexibility to work from home, but it has definitely caused me to question if it’s the right option for me.

Herbs & Plants

On a more productive note, I have more free time now since my classes are finished. One of my goals after graduation was to start an herb garden. I’ll be honest. I’m absolutely terrible with plants. I’ve killed just about every plant I’ve every owned. Succulents, princess palm, ivy, you name it! I’m currently caring for a snake plant, Juanita, and a bamboo plant in addition to the hanging herb garden I just planted. It’s not looking good for the snake plant…or the poor herb plants. Tomorrow will be one week since I purchased and transplanted the herbs and the poor things are all wilted already. I think I need to add more water. I was so worried I would over water them that I’m pretty sure I’ve been under watering them. I have been taking photos every other day and I will continue to give updates on their progress. We haven’t been able to hang them up yet since my husband cut the holes out of the wood last night for the pots to sit in. I’m kind of dreading hanging them up since they’re already not doing well. We shall see! Only time will tell.

Blog#19

Published by ashleymonahan

Hello! I was born and raised in West Virginia and relocated to Florida 5 years ago. I am truly enjoying all the wonderful experiences of married life with my best friend and incredible husband! I love coffee, chocolate, baking, and singing, but most of all living every day serving our perfect Savior Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment